Our chakras are energy centers in our body where the spiritual energies and physical energies meet. Sometimes these energy centers can become blocked or overactive. To restore balance to your chakras, try this chakra balancing meditation. It will leave you peaceful, energized and connected.

First of all, let’s have a brief look at the chakra system.

What is the chakra system?

Chakra is a Sanskrit word which means “wheel”. There are seven chakras in the human body and each one spins like a wheel or vortex, moving our life force, or Prana, through the body. A chakra balancing meditation can help ensure these energy centers are not blocked or overstimulated.

Why do we need to balance the chakras?

The chakras can become unbalanced in two ways. They can be slow, stagnant or blocked, or they can be excessively active. Both of these imbalances can affect our physical, emotional and spiritual health.

Each of the chakras is responsible for a certain type of energy. Therefore, if you have a physical or emotional ailment, you can work on a particular chakra in order to heal it. However, the most important thing is to keep all the chakras in balance, as this will ensure your emotional and physical health is optimal.

It may help to imagine your chakras as musical instruments. When you perform a chakra balancing meditation, it is as if you are striking a tuning fork. The chakra will come into vibrational resonance with it, clearing out energies that do not share the same resonance.

The seven main chakras

While there are actually hundreds of chakras located in the physical and subtle body, the primary seven are where most people focus their attention at first. Getting these 7 chakras in balance will help our life force flow freely and we will be able to live at our highest level.

Balancing the chakras

There are many ways to balance the chakras. For example, walking barefoot on the earth can balance your root chakra. In addition, you can wear the colours associated with each chakra or carry a crystal of that colour.

However, one of the simplest ways to get the chakra system into balance is by doing a balancing meditation. This meditation process is a simple but effective way to move the energy in your body and clear any blocks.

With just a little practice, you will be able to achieve a state of energized peace and bliss just from focusing your attention on your chakra centers for a few minutes.

Chakra balancing meditation

To practice a chakra balancing meditation, first sit in a comfortable position, preferably with your spine straight. You can sit on an upright chair, cross-legged on the floor or even lie down on the bed. I find the best way to practice this meditation is outside with my feet touching the earth, so I try to do this whenever practical. But it can just as well be done indoors.

Take a few deep breaths.

Now, visualize a beam of white light coming in through the top of your head and flowing down your spine then down your legs and into your feet. Imagine this light going into the earth below and spreading out like the roots of a tree.

Repeat the following three times, “I feel safe and grounded now” while continuing to visualize this pure white stream of light.

Now you will work your way through the chakras from the root to the crown.

Visualize the root chakra at the base of your spine as a spinning vortex of red energy. Don’t worry if you can actually ‘see’ this, you may just feel it or sense it.

As you breathe in, imagine positive energy flowing into this chakra. As you breathe out, imagine negative energy leaving this chakra. After a few breaths, repeat the following affirmation for this chakra, “I have all that I need”, breathing deeply as you do this.

Then move onto the next chakra. You can see the colors and affirmations for each chakra in the list below.

Repeat until you have completed each of the chakras.

Now imagine the white light running through your body from above your head and into the earth once more. Repeat the affirmation “I feel safe and grounded now”.

The chakra positions and properties

7 chakra life cycles

Root Chakra

The root chakra represents our foundation and sense of security

Location in the body: Base of the spine.

Emotional issues related to this chakra include survival issues such as money, shelter and food.

Physically related to the gonads, adrenal gland, kidneys and the spinal column.

Color: Red

Affirmation: ‘I have all that I need’.

Sacral Chakra

The sacral chakra represents our fertility and creativity.

Location in the body: Lower abdomen, about two inches below the navel.

Emotional issues related to this chakra include sense of abundance, creativity and sexuality.

Physically related to the spleen, kidneys and bladder.

Color: Orange

Affirmation: ‘I live a creative and passionate life’.

Solar Plexus Chakra

The solar plexus chakra represents our ability to function confidently in the world.

Location in the body: Upper abdomen in the stomach area.

Emotional issues related to this chakra include self-worth, self-confidence and self-esteem.

Physically related to adrenal glands, pancreas, liver, stomach, bladder and the nervous system.

Color: Yellow

Affirmation: ‘I have the personal power to determine my own future’.

Heart Chakra

The heart chakra represents our ability to love and be loved.

Location in the body: Center of chest just above the heart.

Emotional issues related to this chakra include love, joy, and inner peace.

Physically related to the thymus gland, heart, blood, circulatory system, immune system and endocrine system.

Color: Green

Affirmation: ‘I give and receive love easily’.

power of misfits book banner mobile

Throat Chakra

The throat chakra represents our ability to communicate and express ourselves easily.

Location in the body: Throat.

Emotional issues related to this chakra include communication and self-expression.

Physically related to the thyroid and parathyroid glands, lungs, vocal cords, and bronchial apparatus.

Color: Blue

Affirmation: ‘I express myself clearly and easily’.

Third Eye chakra

The third eye chakra represents our ability to see clearly and connect with wisdom.

Location in the body: Forehead between the eyes.

Emotional issues related to this chakra include intuition, imagination, wisdom and the ability to think and make decisions.

Physically related to the eyes, the pineal gland, and the body’s circadian rhythms.

Color: Purple

Affirmation: ‘I am in tune with universal wisdom’.

Crown chakra

The crown chakra represents our ability to be fully connected to spirit and at one with all things.

Location in the body: The very top of the head.

Emotional issues related to this chakra include connection to spirit, peace and pure bliss.

Physically related to the brain, nervous system and pituitary gland.

Color: Violet

Affirmation: ‘I am complete and connected with all that is’.

Once you have finished your chakra balancing meditation, sit or lie quietly for a few moments and enjoy the sense of openness, peace and relaxation before getting back to your day.

Copyright © 2012-2024 Learning Mind. All rights reserved. For permission to reprint, contact us.

power of misfits book banner mobile

Like what you are reading? Subscribe to our newsletter to make sure you don’t miss new thought-provoking articles!

This Post Has 3 Comments

  1. Gary Hynous

    Excellent review of our Chakra system and great content. Enjoy your blogs so keep em’ coming. Gary

  2. Thirunavukkarasu Sivasubramaniam

    Great Content, clear to the point.

  3. Satyanarayana Donepudi

    very informative

Leave a Reply